The Detox Experiment – Current Frustration

After days of endless research and lists and more research and more lists, I have had it. The first shot at homemade toothpaste made my gums bleed, my lips chap and my stomach be upset, I think I might have inhaled to much essential oil and I’m so tired of looking up recipe after recipe, only to find that it once again contains baking soda or some freaky ingredient that requires a trip to town and money. My level of frustration is so bad right now that I can’t even get my motivation up to go running (although it would probably be good to get everything out of my system) and have prescribed a dose of Ellen videos and Taylor Swift’s “Red” for myself. Yep, that’s how bad it is!

All this started when I got a sunburn and wanted to change some things in my life (read about it here!). After researching recipes for homemade shampoo, I basically got obsessed with replacing every commercial hygiene product I use with a homemade, healthier version. The past week I have spent every free minute looking up and comparing recipes for shower gel, toothpaste, deodorant, laundry detergent, facial moisturizers… Here’s how the whole detox experiment went so far:

1. Shampoo

I’ve been off commercial shampoo for six days now (I sound like a drug addict) and in that time have washed my hair twice with a mixture of green tea, honey and apple cider vinegar. After the first wash, I was absolutely amazed. My hair felt really clean and smooth, I loved it! But then the second time (which was yesterday) hardly seemed to have any effect at all. I decided to ditch this recipe and try something else, not only because it doesn’t seem to work on my hair, but also because I can’t stand the smell of ACV while preparing the mixture and in the shower. Your hair doesn’t smell like it – once it’s dry at least. But when I wet it again the next evening, I started to smell it again. So tonight I’m going to try simply honey diluted with water and a couple drops of lavender essential oil. All in all I do have to say that my hair somehow feels healthier since I quit soaking it in chemicals, even though it looks like a grease trap right now due to the detox and adjustment period. Thank God for baseball caps.

2. Toothpaste

This was basically the disaster of my day. I found a really simple recipe using baking soda, coconut oil and peppermint essential oil. I mixed it all up and tried it right then – the results were not very satisfying. My teeth felt and looked really clean afterwards, but the taste was so salty that I added some stevia, which other recipes had used, too. Didn’t do any good though. Also my gums were pretty irritated, started bleeding a little and my lips sure didn’t like that mixture either, same as my tummy. No, of course I didn’t swallow any of it, but somehow some of it must have gotten down there, even despite thorough rinsing. All other recipes without baking soda contain clay, such as bentonite clay. Guess I’ll have to take a trip to the next health food store and pray that that stuff works. Because there’s no way I’m using baking soda ever again.

3. “Get Healthy” Mind Attack

I still haven’t come up with a better name for that. Open for suggestions! So far I’ve been holding up pretty well, I haven’t touched ice cream or cookies in a week and only slipped on soda once because it was sugarless and the only option besides chlorinated water from a hotel faucet. Besides that, I have actually cooked twice (three times if you count blending a smoothie as cooking) – you can check out the recipes here – and have been out running twice (three times if you count me kicking my butt out the door right after I finish this post). I’ve also been pretty good about chowing down on veggies and avoiding processed foods.

Once I get over this period of experimenting and adjusting I will of course let you know what recipes worked for me in the end. Which doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t also go through research-hell because hair and skin care is a very individual issue and can be pretty tricky to solve. That being said, I’ll be out running now. Despite and aching tummy and a still salty taste in my mouth and extremely lacking motivation. Who knew toothpaste could mess up your whole day.

2 thoughts on “The Detox Experiment – Current Frustration

  1. Hey Steffi 🙂

    Also ich muss sagen dein Blog ist schon fast zu meinem “Frühstücks-Ritual” geworden..Sofern es was neues zu lesen gibt 😉 Er liest sich einfach, ist lustig und echt gut geschrieben!
    Du hast mich sogar inspiriert das Grüne Tee-Honig-Apfelessig Shampoo auszuprobieren..nur leider gings mir wie dir..der Geruch ist unausstehlich 😀
    Ich freu mich schon auf neue Beiträge!
    Liebe Grüße,

    Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Sandi!
      Ganz lieben Dank für dein Feedback! Freut mich sehr, dass du gerne mitliest und sogar das Shampoo ausprobiert hast – auch wenn das daneben gegangen ist. 😛
      Liebe Grüße!
      Steffi

      Like

Leave a Reply

